Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a complusory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are people who advocate that high-schoolers ought to be doing volunteering activites as a part of their school curriculum while there are people who doubt this suggestion. Although I am in favour of the ideology behind this, I would side with the ones who disagree since this attempt would be unpragmatic in practical situation.

Firstly, high-school years are period of the life-changing for young adults since they will be considering which college they want to go or what to do after high school . Basically ,since it is the final step toward the teritary education, the lessons and activites are seemed to be more overwhelming than the previous school years. There will be a lot in the students'plate as ones who are ambitious will be seeking extra-curriculular activities whereas ones are trying to comprehend the lessons provided,enjoying the mere months they have as high-schoolers. Amidst the tight schedule, adding unpaid community service as compulsory course would be unfavourable for young adults which can consequently lead them to find those activities as boring or exhausting although they are mentally satisfying jobs.

Secondly, the juveniles have fun in choosing what they want to do in addition to school curriculum since they do have various interests. One may go to Sports club while one prefers membership in literature club as something to devote within their limited time after school lessons. Indeed,there are the young people who choose to participate in philantrophy activities such as local Red-Cross organization or Care teams.

Some people worry about the lessening altruistic nature among young people these days. However, schools have been occasionally carrying out community services that students can participate where one can also find his or her truest form of altrusim. In fact, altrusim can be promoted not only from volunteering service but also through classroom interaction.

To sum up,making philantrophic activities as compulsory in curriculum is preferrable ideolgically Nonetheless, it seemed to be unneccessary and might give the students wrong idea or feeling towards this novel activity.