Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

High school students tend to be directed to have a better performance in academic rather than in social life. While some people agree that unpaid community service should be included in a school syllabus, others argue that those kinds of activities bring more harm than good for the students. However, as far I am concerned, I do believe that children in such age need a place where they can enhance their aptitudes in socialising.

It is generally believed that children in these days lack social awareness. For this reason, most people suggest that students in high school should participate in some community activities such as working in charity programme. David Burghman, a senior psychologist in Singapore, believes that such activities are indeed needed by these children since it can help shape their personalities. They will turn out to be more self-reliance and they also will give more appreciation towards others. Therefore, including those types of activities in a school compulsory programme is a must.

On the other hand, some opponents claim that students should narrowly focus on their academic performances instead. These people emphasize that growing students’ interests in social life is not school’s duty. Neil Pattrick, an Australian teacher, insists that school is a place where students learn about something relating to knowledge and academic subjects. Sending them to participate in social activities will give them nothing but distraction which obviously interrupting their academic performance. By this explanation, unpaid community service is not suggested to be apart of schools programme.

In conclusion, although working in a charity or other social events can train high school students to be more independent, such activities are forecast to distract their performances in academic fields. However, I still believe that these activities are what students need for living in a real world, hence school representatives should find the right time when students can participate in that programme in order to not interrupt the learning process.