Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very less about famous people from the history in their own country Why is this How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their

In the modern era, with the expansion of entertainment, teenagers are now paying more attention to their favourite singers or movie stars, which overshadowed the paramount importance of learning history or gaining knowledge about their heroes in the past specifically. In this essay, I would scrutinize the reason behind this phenomenon and suggest some solutions for it.

A wide range of factors could contribute to this common circumstance of youngsters who, albeit versed in international celebrities, have superficial knowledge about famous historical figures of their own nations. The massive media coverage of famous stars could be the chief rational to explain this. With the popularity of social media, it is ubiquitous for teenagers, who spend most of their free time surfing the Internet, to come across a bulk of dynamic and vibrant images of celebrities all over the news headlines. Hence, it would raise teenagers’ interest in such topics and further create a rising trend among them. On the smaller scale of students particularly, in some exam-oriented countries like Vietnam, history is only regarded as secondary in the educational systems. Teenagers would have a tendency of focusing on their targeted subject, consequently, the young could turn down to have a vague understanding about their national history and national past heroes.

However, we are able to handle this situation by adopting several solutions. In order to place more emphasis on history, the educational authority would be well-advised to render it as a compulsory subject in most of our exams such as the national university entrance examinations. Under a certain pressure, students would investigate their time studying historical events which might be able to cultivate the learner's passion for history. Or perhaps, changing the whole school curriculum could be arduous, it is possible for teachers to make history lessons become more vibrant and easier to approach by adding joyful activities, such as play roles and go sightseeing in the museums… Regarding the media coverage, the film-makers should put more effort to improve the quality of films that honor the glorious victories with the aim of stimulating children’s and adolescents’ curiosity in learning about the figure behind these events.

To sum up, teenagers tend to pay more attention to international celebrities instead of their nation's heroes mostly due to social media and education. Therefore, several solutions should be taken to tackle such scenarios.