Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Recently, waste recycling has sparked a controversy among the public whether governments should introduce laws to make it a legal obligation. Although I accept that new legislation to force people to recycle could alleviate environmental issues, I do not agree that a recycling law is the only measure that governments should take.

It is true that people do not recycle enough of their domestic refuse, even when they know about the advantages of doing this. Therefore, a new recycling law would be one possible way to tackle the waste problem. Governments could make regulations to ensure their citizens sort through all household waste to separate reusable materials. There could be punishments for people who fail to adhere to this law, ranging from a small fine to community service, or even heavy fines for repeat offenders. Besides, if householders face fines for neglecting environmental protection rules, they would be more likely to take extra minutes to place plastics, papers and other reusable items in proper bins rather than lose out financially. In fact, countries that set up such systems, such as Singapore and Sweden, have higher rates of recycling, suggesting this law is effective.

However, I believe that protecting the environment requires co-operation from the public and this cannot be achieved without increasing awareness of the importance of recycling. Governments should educate homeowners about the benefits involved, as well as how to sort trash into suitable bins. Additionally, children could be taught about recycling through school programmes, so that they could be informed about the environmental impacts of household waste, hence resulting in a marked increase in the percentage of people participating in recycling programmes.

In conclusion, I strongly hold that recycling is the responsibility for both governments and citizens to share, with the enforcement of laws to punishments for the former and a public willingness for the latter.