Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A growing number of people insist that the wastes from houses are not reused in desirable amounts. It is their claim that reprocessing rubbish needs to be made legal by governments so as to increase the rate of recyclings. I am totally in favour of this idea and this essay will put forward the reasons of reconditioning of insufficient litters from residences and the significance of imposing a law for remodelling debris.

On the one hand, inadequate spaces and suffering great inconveniences can be one of the rationalities for household-members. This can be exemplified by the fact that many people are usually found to share a small apartment and lack enough spaces to place their goods. So, family members and merchandises are taken priority over discarded matters. Also, the majority of people have to travel a long distance to dispose the rubbish, which they often find time consuming and an uneasy task. Therefore, in order to bring a change, the government needs to impose a strict law.

On the other hand, enforcing laws may act as an effective deterrent. To illustrate, knowing that people will be punished by heavy fines and long term imprisonments, they are compelled to follow the rules and regulations which means that a significant proportion of them tend to control the load of consumptions and eventually maintain a balance in the dispositions. Not only could it prevent domestic members from creating excessive wastes but also companies and factories would be obliged as well, who typically constitute a major percentage in the creation of litters. On top of that, vulnerable atmospheres and ecosystems can be protected by passing laws. For an instance, burning waste materials releases huge amounts of greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and methane, which collectively give rise to global warming that is proved to be utterly disastrous to human beings, wild animals and ecological communities.

To conclude, although recycling is not carried out by family members in sufficient numbers, enacting a law can tackle the problem effectively.