Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you thing laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In the modern world, environmental factors are the key to the developments of many nations. Due to increasing awareness of environmental issues and materials shortages, it is claimed that only a small amount of household waste is recycled which is inadequate to make changes in these serious situations. Consequently, people argue that turning recycling into a legal requirement is the first and foremost way to encourage practicing it. From my point of view, i strongly believe that rules and regulations contribute greatly to efforts to make dwellers recycle more.

This is primarily because citizens, especially in major metropolises, dump garbage irresponsibly. In 2008, results of a research carried out base on the amount of rubbish collected daily was surprisingly with 70% made up of paper, wood and fabric products. Moreover, when law is established, it can influence directly to people as following national rules and regulations has been a symbol of patriotism since ancient time. Furthermore, governments officials can give citizens punishments whenever they disobey the law.

If recycling is not legally required, the consequences can be disastrous. The cases occur as soon as plastic goods are burned or buried, they emit large amount of CO2 into the atmosphere and contaminate the water resources below surface. To gradually mitigate the problematic situations, rules and regulations should impact massively on economic aspects. This can be done by various method such as charging people a sum of money for having thrown away recyclable garbage and raising taxes on disposal products to curb the consumption of customers.

To summarize, rules and regulations can increase humans recycling behaviour by making it legally required. Thus, great deal of pollutants can be reduced to improve environmental as well as personal health.