Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Due to the devastating damages to the environment stemming from landfilling domestic rubbish excessively, it is needed to recycle them as much as possible. In my view, the first step to tackle this problem is the implementation of new rules by governments, which should be completed by other measurements too.

In order to make people to be more sensitive about the necessity of recycling waste materials, governments should enforce some rules. In fact, ordinary people having different quality of life need to be informed that if they were indifferent about managing their produced rubbish, they would be punished. In this way, similar to other social issues like the prohibition of smoking in public places, they accept these rules gradually. As a result, people are more likely to separate their waste materials such as plastic bags, glass and waste foods in their home, which is undoubtedly the first step in the process of recycling rubbish.

However, enforcing new rules will not work unless other required infrastructures are made. Firstly, governments should revise used standards in building industry, meaning that they need to employ professional engineers to take recycling waste materials into account when they design a new building. This can be done by adding separated shootings in the buildings, resulting in encouraging people to manage their waste. Secondly, the process of recycling is principally completed in related plants. Therefore, not only should local councils arrange a plan to collect waste from homes, but they also need to allocate extra budget to establish modern recycling factories.

In conclusion, although it seems that recycling waste should be a legal requirement, this plan will be successful provided that other required steps are considered.