Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling is far becoming a serious problem in our modern society nowadays. Some people intend the idea that legislation should be enacted to force citizens to recycle their waste. However, I do believe that it is not the only method to tackle the issue since there are other effective measures that governments should take.

In my opinion, a recycling law is a possible effective solution for the waste problem. Firstly, it reinforces households to separate domestic waste into different bins. Therefore, the further recycling process will be far more effective. Secondly, there should be a punishment for those who do not obey the law. In fact, just a small fine or several weeks serving the community also assists in making people have awareness of their responsibility to recycle their waste. Moreover, prison sentences also act as a deterrent to offenders who frequently break the law. Consequently, the improvement in homeowners’ behaviour could lead to a clean and waste-free environment.

However, there are still several efficient methods which bring great success in the recycling waste process. In terms of education, practical lessons about the environment help greatly in shaping students’ mindset about classifying trash, recycling stuff or even collecting garbage on the street. Moreover, authorities should put more effort into campaigning to educate citizens about 3R, which is reuse, reduce and recycle. From the social perspective, a strict law to reduce unnecessary plastic packages should be put into action. Only by doing so can help reduce the amount of plastic used daily.

From all the above-mentioned, a recycling law is not a primary action to deal with the issue since education and the contribution of the industry is also important. Politicians and activists should join hand to apply the above methods in the recycling progress.