Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In today’s era, waste from homes or at other places has become an alarming subject to ponder because it indirectly has a grim impact on human’s lives, which is utterly erroneous. However, some advocate the view of enforcing laws so that there could be a more augmentation in the recycling process in order to preserve the environment from further damage. Thus, I am going to put forth my views over this statement.

To begin with, waste recycling can be proved to be an effective method in coping with myriad problems, therefore there should be an appropriate law for awaking conscience of people on account of plethora possible reasons. Firstly, people will be more meticulous in dividing the recyclable and non-recyclable wastage due to the concern of the punishment or fine, and thereby they may cooperate in a better way in the recycling process. Secondly, the law can ensure change in the mindset of people because people often procrastinate such issues in the wake of their other works, but with the enforcement of law, they will be more serious and will have more participation. For instance, it has been found that countries like the U.S.A, Canada have strict legislation over the recycling of waste and muck, as a result people strictly abide by the rules,

On the other hand, the law cannot be a viable alternative in making people to have more indulgence in the recycling process owing to multitude reasons. Firstly, issues which are related to the environment can only be tackled with the proper awareness among people about the dire aftermath of, not recycling the waste. In addition, government should ensure pertinent amenities for dumping the waste and by making people to know about the various methods to recycle waste, consequently there can be brought a remarkable change, because mostly people do not show their eagerness due to the lack of facilities for waste.

In conclusion, I opine that environment must be the prime responsibility of every individual because merely government can never bring any fruitful change.