Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will be no longer necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer Do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that physical historical buildings such as museums and art galleries are no longer essential due to the availability of historical objects and artworks on the internet. While the internet allows its users to observe these artifacts in a more convenient and cost-effective environment, I believe that these institutions play a crucial role in tourism and education.

Undoubtedly, e-museums or art galleries are superior to traditional ones in terms of their 24/7 services. Due to unlimited closing hours, internet users can view works of art and historical objects whenever and wherever they want. Visitors, on the other hand, have to arrange their time to visit traditional institutions which only open at a fixed time. Additionally, online museums also offer their historical objects for free or at a low charge, while conventional visitors have to pay an enormous amount for tickets ordered, travel, or even accommodations if they live far away from these exhibitions. By using e-museums and art galleries, viewers can save money and spend it on other important areas, making their lives more comfortable.

However, viewing artifacts and historical objects on the internet does not fully convey a meaningful message to visitors. Moreover, these people can find it difficult to absorb the exact meanings of these objects themselves, whereas museum visitors can learn about the stories behind the artworks from tour guides. Apart from that, traditional museums and art galleries also play a vital role in the development of tourism. According to the General Statistics Office, there have been more than 60% of foreign travelers visit The War Remnant Museum and 55% of them visit The Dragon Harbor during their visits to Ho Chi Minh city, compared to other tourist attractions. The tax income generated by these institutions thus contributes to the wealth of the national treasuries.

In conclusion, although online historical museums and art galleries can provide visitors with more convenience and cost-effectiveness, conventional buildings play an important role in terms of the educational and tourist sectors. I am also convinced that physical museums will remain popular due to the proliferation of the internet.