Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, taking several gap years has become increasingly popular among high school graduated students. Many students choose to travel or work as a volunteer or an intern instead of straightly pursuing higher education. In my opinion, this tendency has both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, taking a gap year enables students to have some time out of the curriculum to spend on their dream things. Most students spend their gap years on volunteer, internship, or travel. This can provide them valuable experiences, creativity, and even leadership. These mentioned skills are hard to be seen in the majority part of students nowadays. Besides, a couple of gap years also give students time to relax and prepare themselves to cope with higher education.

However, a year off also forces students to face many difficulties. The most significant drawback might be that students leaving school for a time are likely to have less motivation to return to the academic education program. Students mostly spend these “clear” years preparing for their plans or their favorite stuff. These activities are actually more interesting than finishing twenty-four credits at university. Nevertheless, not immediately going straight to university also means that students may lose many golden opportunities given at universities. For example, many universities nowadays grant or give students the chances to work as an intern in many cities and companies that cooperate with the school.

In conclusion, while a year off brings experiences and relaxation, going immediately to universities also offers many different opportunities. Therefore, taking a gap year brings both advantages and disadvantages that needed to be carefully taken into account.