Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. (sample cue card)

Graffiti has been a controversial topic for many years, with some people believing that it is a form of art that should be allowed in cities, while others think that it should be banned. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and provide a personal opinion.

On the one hand, some people argue that graffiti is a form of artistic expression and should be allowed in cities. They believe that graffiti adds character to the urban landscape and can be used to convey important social or political messages. Furthermore, they argue that by allowing graffiti, cities can create designated areas where artists can create murals and other large-scale pieces, which can help to reduce vandalism in other areas.

On the other hand, opponents of graffiti argue that it is a form of vandalism and should be banned in cities. They believe that it is a blight on the urban landscape and can be costly to remove. Furthermore, they argue that graffiti can be used by gangs to mark their territory, which can be intimidating to residents and visitors alike. Finally, they argue that allowing graffiti can lead to a slippery slope, where other forms of illegal activity are tolerated or even encouraged. In my opinion, while graffiti can be a beautiful form of art, it should not be allowed in cities without proper regulation. City governments should create designated areas for graffiti artists, where they can create their work without fear of legal repercussions. However, graffiti outside of these designated areas should be banned and those caught should be fined or forced to clean up their work.

In conclusion, the debate over whether or not cities should allow for spaces for graffiti is ongoing. While there are valid arguments on both sides, it is important for cities to find a balance between artistic expression and protecting public property.