Some people prefer to work for a large company. Other prefer to work for a small company. Which would you prefer? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

The working environment is different for differ rent organisations. Even two large companies or two small companies have absolutely varied work culture, but in general terms we can make a difference in large and small companies with some parameter. I have experience working with large and small firms and based on my experience I personally prefer to work with a small organisations due to several reasons which I’ll explain in following essay.

Firstly, It is important to have some extent of freedom in work culture. IF an individual wants to propose an opinion or idea for certain work, he should get an opportunity to project his thoughts. This is required to keep work force motivated. For example, when I was in large company, we were working on an improvement project. We had a big team with a leader ( my immidiate boss) who gave all updates to higher management. During project, I and my teammates came up with an idea to do things in better way, but somehow my leader couldn’t get convinced. Also due to gap in management levels, we were unable to propose this idea to anyone else. The experience was disappointing and dragged out the enthusiasum towards work from most of my collegues.

Secondly, Small firms have few peoples working in a office. So everyone almost knows every other person working. Most of the bosses even know who is peon in the office. This helps bosses recognise the good performer in a team. One can’t take false credit for other persons work. In my personal experience, I’m a shy person and don’t like to talk much about my work or credits. When I was in a large company, I had a hard time to communicate to top bosses about my achievements. Even for some instances ,my senior took credit for my work. The large companies generally have many layers of hierarche so to reach to bosses or the people who are actual decision makers is very difficult. On the other hand, in small firms, my boss worked in close proximity. He had complete information of work performed by every individual. So without mentioning much about my work, I always got good incentives and appreciation for my work.

In conclusion, small companies can offer an individual freedom for work and proper recognition for work which holds employees interests in work and gives him satisfaction of work. Due to all these reasons I will prefer to work with small firms