Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent decades, a number of people hold conflicting views about whether advertising is successful at persuading people to purchase products or it is so common and no longer grabs viewers' attention. While there are several individuals who believe that the advertising industry is succeeding in selling things, I firmly hold the latter view.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why advertising is successful at grabbing people's attention and encouraging people to buy things. The main explanation is that people will be informed about the latest products. To explain, advertising industries have invested a lot of money in order to make many attractive commercials about goods, and as a consequence, more and more people will know about those new products and they might spend their money to buy them. Take PepsiCo as an example. In 2016, they have allocated nearly 8 million to make a special advert that has Lionel Messi in it. Consequently, numerous people bought their products and the turnover of PepsiCo shot up that year.

On the other hand, it seems to me that advertising, nowadays, is too common and gradually being ignored. To explain, the screen time of one advert on television is too long, and it makes people feel uncomfortable and annoyed when they have to wait until it finishes continuing watching other programs. Moreover, one commercial can be replayed many times, which brings tedious feelings to viewers. Therefore, people will consider that advertising is too common and skip it.

To sum up, although there are some explanations about advertising is succeeding in convincing people to buy goods, I would argue that it does not grab people's attention anymore.