Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether advertisement has an influence on people is debatable. Some think that it is successful at persuading people, while others think it has no longer have any influence due to overuse. This essay will discuss why advertising has still a good influence on us even if it is used everywhere.

People have an opinion that everything we buy is controlled by advertising. This thinking comes from the fact that any product from groceries to electronics is advertised to us. We do not buy the things that we do not see an ad for. For instance, we sometimes buy a new item on a promotional sale, which is a kind of advertising. With an addition to that, companies spend a large amount of money on sales teams. They would not do that if the advertisings would not be able to influence people. For these reasons, it is understandable why someone might think that advertising is extremely successful at influencing people.

Conversely, it is also true that advertising is everywhere. The overuse of the same sales pitches can be very repetitive. People see the same types of advertisements every day and this can make them give no attention to them. For example, the commercials for toothpaste have had the same concept for recent years. People might not try out a new toothpaste if their commercials are the same. Therefore, advertising might not have the same effect on people as it did before.

Advertising has become quite common especially in the age of electronic media. This essay discussed though there are some typical advertisements which fail to attract people, advertisements are always highly successful at persuading people. In my opinion, advertisements will always be able to influence people’s buying behavior.