Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, advertising is indisputably a widespread method to introduce and bring products closer to the public. However, there is an argument centering on whether advertising is actually appealing or too old-fashioned to attract customers’ notice. In my own opinion, on balance, I agree with the latter statement.

Due to the advancements of social media and networks, people now can easily come across an eclectic mix of different advertisements online. We can not deny that advertisements, somehow, are very attractive and enticing that urge people using their money. For instance, brands and companies often aim at customers’ weaknesses and essential needs to bait their attention through their online shopping. Nutritious and dietary food for obese people, discounts on extravagant clothes and household appliances… These are the most common things that we often come across on the Internet. However, do these products are that appealing?

On the other hand, the truth turns out not to be what people expected. The fact that advertisings are completely contagious nowadays that many people do not spare a thought for them. Partly, the products introduced on televisions and the Internet are not that wonderful. Customers are increasingly upset as their money didn’t pay off. Many products turned out not to be compatible with what they had been praised in advertisements, and that is the pivotal reason. Like a domino effect, customers are now aware of what is called the “marketing fraud” and steadily make the distance to advertisements and do not often trust manufacturers. Consequentially, companies lose their credibility and advertising is no longer a decent way to attract customers.

In conclusion, in some facets, advertising can be convincing and help companies make profits. However, as people are too over-protective, integrity and honesty are important to obtain customers’ beliefs and social reputation.