Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is

damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that the only way to write off hunger and poverty is growing economy, others thinks that the environment is compromised so putting a stop to economic growth is a must. Personally, I would argue with the second viewpoint.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people embrace economic growth. First, since economic growth increases, the wealth from profits will find its way into the pockets of the underprivileged. This is partly due to the fact that growing economy is a contributor to enhance the number of charity organizations, which is likely to give a monetary support to the poorer. In Vietnam, like for instance, the increase in the number of charity bodies results in alleviate hunger and poverty rate. Second, economic growth also act as a precursor to creating more jobs for the poor. In fact, needs for job seeking and economic growth have gone up simultaneously as growing economy has required a host of white-collars and blue-collars to support. As a result, chances are the poor has more opportunities to earn a living and break out of the vicious circle of poverty.

On the other hand, I believe that economic growth breeds significant amount of waste discharged into the environment. An explanation for this could be that the enterprises and companies are likely to mushroom as economic growth happens, which make the amount of toxic waste exponentially increase. Plenty of evidence has suggested that the enterprises and companies discharge a huge amount of chemical waste to environment. Furthermore, deforestation rate seems to markedly rise due to growth of economy. In fact, needs to produce cash crops for export can trigger serious environmental issues, especially global warming. Loss of trees results in imbalance of ecosystem and increase in average temperature of the Earth.

In conclusion, although economic growth has helped end hunger and poverty, I think followed shortcomings associated with it are more significant.