Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped.

Discuss both the use views and give your opinion.

Economic development is the priority of many countries around the world. While there are concerns about the detrimental impacts of this growth on the environment and calling for a halt to this process, I believe economic expansion is the only solution to impoverishment and starvation.

To begin with, the environment has suffered tremendously from economic activities. Firstly, the process of industrialization, which is a part of the economic progress is fueled by fossil resources like coal or oil. The resulting consequence from burning those fuels is degrading air quality and the growing number of climate change-induced disasters due to a high level of exhaust fumes and co2 emissions into the air. Moreover, a vast area of woodland has been wiped out to make place for agricultural practices or the construction of infrastructure serving industrial or tourism purposes. Therefore, various species are driven to extinction because of the deprival of their natural habitat, posing a threat to biodiversity.

However, economic growth has also lifted many countries out of poverty and hunger. A contributing factor is that developing the economy requires joint efforts from people with differing skills and expertise levels. Therefore, every class of society is given job opportunities, ranging from manual to office ones, along with a stable income to make ends meet and even improve their living standard. In addition, with strong financial backup following a developed economy, the government can address the shortage of food more effectively. To demonstrate, Japan is a developed country with a harsh geographical condition for agriculture. However, this country has enough budget to allocate on technological advancement in cultivation and import food from other countries, thus ensuring food security for its citizens

In conclusion, though economic growth is the underlying cause for air pollution and the loss of biodiversity, its effectiveness in alleviating poverty and hunger is irrefutable. Therefore, I believe the authorities should take steps to mitigate the undesirable side-effects of this expansion and continue the development of the economy