Nowadays, celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements and this set a bad example for young people

To what extent do you agree or disagree to this?

Nowadays, It is true that besides personal achievements, celebrities can attain a certain level of fame with their allure and affluence. Although there are concerns about the detrimental impressions on young generation from this way of gaining attention, I believe the opposite opinion for the following reasons.

To begin with, the popularity based on trivial matters only tends to be short-lived. Admittedly, with the prevalence of social media an individual can quickly gain huge attention with little effort. A good example would be Paris Hilton, who was notorious for her extravagant lifestyle in the early 2000s. Images of her participation in parties and scandals promoted the message that appearance and glamour are more important than achievements and contributions to society. As a result, viewers boycotted her way of life and magazines abandoned her after a few months. This example, hence, prove that the general public are equipped with enough knowledge to recognize and prevent potential sources of toxic influences

However, the fortunes and accomplishments of many celebrities can motivate young people in pursuit of their passion. Countless actors, musicians, business people have made millions of dollars and achieve worldwide admiration because of their strenuous efforts to realize their dreams. The current status quo of figures like Messi, Bill Gates, or Taylor Swift is the fruition of their perseverance and years of practice to develop their skills. Therefore, such famous people and their assets can inspire children and adults alike who desire to become successful in their chosen field.

In conclusion, glamour and wealth can temporarily put people in the limelight but the inspirational attainments behind those are what make others hold some people in high prestige in the long term. I believe this lesson is thoroughly absorbed by the present generation when looking upon famous individuals