Some people say that family has the most powerful influence on a child’s development; however, others say that influences outside the family play a bigger role on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many hold a belief that family plays the most important role in contributing to the growth of children; while opponents argue that outside environments are more likely to affect children than family. To the best of my knowledge, the later point of view is more reasonable for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that the emergency of technical devices is inclined to impact on a child’s development. To be specific, the growing trend of electronic products has given users swiff and convenient access to various entertainment modes like social media, Facebook or Instagram. For example, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, there are many video clips and films on the Internet that children may imitate the characters. Another factor that influences children is their friends. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, children tend to have the same interests, personalities and habits with their friends, because they find it easy to express feelings together.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that family is the most outstanding influence on their offspring, because the traditional education of the family is taught by parents when their children were very young. In other words, parents can follow their childrens and encourage them to avoid enticement in contemporary society. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that the ever-changing world is accompanied by the growing independence of people. As a result, self-sufficient children are able to approach outside communities very soon.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that family has big effects on children, but other impacts play a more powerful role on the growth of children as mentioned above.