Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that more emphasis should be placed on subjects, such as science and technology, than history, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that history should be a priority as a school subject do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that studying history can prevent people from making the same mistakes, such as colonisation and imperialism. Another argument is that we should take responsibility for bequeathing our history to future generations, which can allow them not only to have patriotism but also to feel a sense of belonging to their mother country.

Given these points, some people hold the view that teaching history is crucial rather than other subjects.

My opinion, however, is that pupils can benefit a lot more from learning science and technology. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that nowadays there are a myriad of prestigious and well-paid occupations available relating to science and technology. This means that graduates who majored in science and technology are more likely to land well-paid employment in this technologically advanced era considering that these people are more in demand in the job market. In addition, science and technology exert a positive influence on human beings. To be more specific, having a deeper understanding of knowledge about science makes it possible for people to deal with a multitude of practical and social problems. As a brief illustration, science and technology can alleviate global hunger, lessen the impact of global warming, and save lives, resulting in people having an improved standard of living. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the education of science and technology should take precedence over history education for the reasons discussed above.