Some people say History is one of the most important subjects in school. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is a controversial issue whether subjects relating to science and technology are more important than History. Given the high development in science in the world over the past few decades and increased demand for technologist, schools should give more focus on science-related subjects.

Knowing a country’s history is very important for every citizen of a country. Children can learn about their country’s history by reading history books at schools, for example, they can understand about the biographies of their famous political leaders and the wars that made their countries independent. Without this knowledge, no people can be proper citizens of a country and it will be a shame for them as residents. Besides, children can understand about patriotism and brave activities of their past leaders which motivate the present generation to be patriots. Moreover, History books help students know about other countries’ cultures which broaden their knowledge.

However, school teachers should still ensure that the students gain much more knowledge about science and technology. Most of the developments in the world have been possible because of the rise of technology. In our day-to-day activities, we are closely related to technologies, for instance, using advanced medical technologies, smartphones, computers, internet etc. So, students need to gain deep knowledge about science and technologies so that they can easily understand how those technologies work. Besides, having a deep understanding of technology from the childhood stage will help them stay in a very competitive position in future job market. For example, gaining IT knowledge consistently make students skilled in operating computers and this will be a positive point in interview.

To conclude, although we cannot deny the importance of history subject, students should give more attention to science-related subjects as these will be helpful for their future careers.