Some people say that the main environmental problem our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, few individuals supposed the absence of spectacular fauna and flora species is an environmental worrisome issue, whilst others feel there are more significant problems that need to be addressed. While I consider the impact of recurring natural catastrophes to be substantial, I agree with the second view and the two opinions will be discussed in detail.

There are countless reasons explain why various species are endangered. Firstly, deforestation and desertification have witnessed an alarming growth with millions of trees have been cut down for cultivating and grazing. Consequently, numerous valuable native herbs, as well as fauna, are not conserved. Additionally, overfishing decreases a large number of aquatic creatures such as blue whales or kinds of sharks that have been hunted brutally in the past decades. In detail, researchers estimated that there are only a few thousand of them left on Earth, and shortly, the number will decline to some hundred of that.

Despite that, the number of significant problems that need to be addressed is greater than expected a lot. Foremost, climate change threatens every nation due to it is difficult to predict absolutely what will happen. Furthermore, droughts and floods come about more and more frequently, leading to agricultural productivity drops overwhelmingly. Besides, icebergs at the two poles of the earth have seen a rapid melting speed for the past decades, making the animals in those places have no space to inhabit. Similar to them, human beings are also in the same situation when coastal cities are sunk tardily due to the rising sea level and in the next century, scientists prognosticate that some islands or municipalities will be drowned.

To conclude, I suppose there are more pressing issues that must be addressed than the loss of specific creatures. Spectacularly, we are gradually successful in conserving various fauna and flora which is in danger of extinction by building national parks all over the world. However, deforestation and more catastrophes are becoming more and more indispensable.