Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental effects.

Environment consist of variety of plant and animal species that are interdependent on each other for food and shelter. With the advancement and various activities of human kind, these species are threatened. As a result of which some people believe that the major problem of the current times is the loss of flora and fauna, while others are of the opine that they are bigger issues than the extinction of species. This essay will discuss both of these perspectives and try to reach a conclusion by the end.

Our whole environment runs in a cyclic manner, where one animal is a food to the other. This cycle is essentially known as food chain. Food chain wraps all the species ranging from the microscopic organism to the largest of whales. Any disturbance in this cycle can easily effect a lot of animals. For instance, in Taiwan, deers were hunted for their skin. This skin was used to make accessories like bags and belts. The major food source for deers were the green fern plants and deer was food for bears. Over the years, with extensive hunting a drop in the populace of deers was observed, this had an ill-effect on the population of bears as they began to die due to starvation, furthermore the fern plants grew aggressively over the areas acting as weed because there were no deers to consume it all. This situation is a good example of domino effect where smaller changes lead to bigger effects.

On the other hand, there are many other environmental issues than saving species. The most important one being the melting of glaciers, which has a direct effect on the sea levels. With increase in sea levels the possibility of coastal regions getting submerged under water is high. This would mean lesser dry land for humans and other animas to settle. It is predicted that within the next decade places like Venice will be submerged completely under water. Additionally, depletion of ozone layer is another serious threat. Ozone layer is responsible for protecting the species from the harmful rays of sun, with this thinning out, the earth is exposed to adverse climatic conditions of space. Other problems like pollutions be it in air, water or noise are also some of the other adversities that are burning issues of this century.

Lastly, looking at both the views, I am of the opinion that it is better we deprioritize the problem of loss of plant and animal species because there are many other problems that have much deeper and faster harmful effects.