Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The issue raised here asks reader to take stand whether universities should require students to take courses who are indifferent to their field of study. At first glance it might seem that it will be not be necessary for university students to study a subject out of their area of expertise, but when we dive deeper we get a wider perspective and it might seem that it becomes necessary for students to at least study one subject of their interest outside their area.Lets look at some examples to understand this better.

Firstly, the purpose of education at all levels is to obviously teach students about the subjects but also make sure students are headed the right way in their life, hold on to correct values and follow them through out their life. For example, student in a med school studies in thorough about the human body and go for specialisation according to their interests, apart from their normal curriculum it becomes very important for a doctor to posses some basic social skills that makes their patients comfortable to share their problem. So if students are given a chance to study social skills subject then its a great add on to students study and will eventually help them cater their job.

Secondly, with provision of studying other subjects apart from their area, will hep discover them their talents and might help them in long run when they actually want to change their career path. For instance, students nowadays want to go for jobs in tech world due to high pay and not because put of their passion for technology, so in long run they will eventually be tired and want to make a turn in their career, and hence have to start from scratch.But what if the universities actually gave them a option to study something else like music, dance for that matter then professionals will not be entering into new field with zero knowledge rather they would be equipped to enter readily into something else without any hesitation.

Thirdly, learning a an extra outside the preview of their study will help a lot especially for students in programs like MBA, where the some of the students who would to start their own business in a particular field like pharmaceuticals, or a software company then learning subjects related to pharmacy or learning the trend of tech in a software will give them an edge and better skill and confidence to start their own business. Even if the students didn’t go for entrepreneurship, this knowledge will help them in one or other phase of life, as knowledge can never be gone waste.

Lastly, in conclusion, it appears to be rather helpful for students to study a course outside their area of expertise and nonetheless there is no harm in knowing something extra.