Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy.

Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it. Write at least 250 words.

Education is an ever evolving field. In recent times, there have been many changes to the way things are taught to children due to various factors which have negatively impacted the quality of education especially in subjects like mathematics and literature. The essay will aim to discuss causes of this decline and possible remedies.

With the advent of technology, every aspect of human life is governed by use of some kind of devices. Undoubtedly, they have made life much easier. However, the luxury of tech comes along with detrimental effects in a student’s life. For instance, when students are assigned to write a paper in literature, the first thing that they do is search it online and copy paste the same answer, this steals the children’s ability to think and express their understanding on the topic. Likewise, in case of maths, there is wide usage of gadgets like calculator which aids in solving difficult problems on behalf of them. Eventually, with such replacements pupils loose the capabilities of logical and rational thinking, which in turn will lead to decline in the educational standards.

Although, there are a few possible solutions that could help elevate these falling standards. One of the most effective one is strict monitoring by parents at home and teachers in school on the usage of devices. Moreover, adherence to rule and regulations within the class should be followed that way students tend to attentively involve themselves in the class. Additionally, by following a practical based approach, where students are given the opportunity to work in labs, participate in literary clubs can invoke an interest that will help in solving this issue.

In conclusion, there are both objective and subjective reasons for this drop in educational standards, the most sensible solution would be to avoid overuse of technology and adhere to disciplinary standards.