t is becoming increasingly popular to take a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is common for students to take a break between their school and college, this is happening for various reasons. At first glance, it might seem that taking a year off during the crucial period is studies might not be the best of ideas, but a deeper dive reveals otherwise. This essay will discuss a wide range of perspectives.

To begin with, one of the key benefits of taking such kind of breaks is that students get an opportunity to take some time for themselves explore their interests and pursue their hobbies which would not have been possible with their busy school schedule. It is observed that some students travel to different places during this time, which relaxes their body and refreshes their mind. Likewise, there are students who enrol themselves into some courses like art, music, theatre in order to gain an extra skill, also some indulge themselves in social work which would not only enhance their profile but also makes them a better human being. Moreover, the most common reason for a year off would be to pursue a job. This allows them to see how things work in real and additionally they would be partly financially independent as they would earn some bucks.

Despite the positive arguments, there is a downside to it. A whole year off is a long time to change one’s perspective on anything, students might take rash decisions about their life which would ultimately lead to deviating from their goals. This can turn their whole life disastrous. Especially if they involve themselves in an internship or a job, then they become too comfortable after a period of time, and due to which some might not be willing to go back to college and continue their studies. As a result of which, they will be struck in low paying salary jobs.

In conclusion, the merits seem to overweight the demerits, there are numerous beneficial effects as result a taking a year off, but it is necessary that students get the right kind of guidance and counselling during their break.