Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company organisation. Why might be this case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The work culture and job market has seen numerous changes over the past decade, the expectations of people with respect to their jobs is no more the same. Entrepreneurship is one such trend that is gaining popularity among the working citizens. People prefer to be self-employed rather than working for some other organisation. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this thought and discuss the downsides for the same.

Firstly, there are several factors involved in a business like marketing, finance and product development. In earlier days, majority of the population did not have knowledge about it. But with the rise in online resources, people are becoming more and more aware about behind the scenes of a business. For instance, there are numerous online courses and abundant information available for people that can help them to open a simple online business. Moreover, with online shopping becoming more popular among people of all ages, it is easier for online businesses to make money. Nevertheless, several countries in the world encourage entrepreneurship by providing financial funds at lower interest rates to people who are self-employed. Additionally, nowadays people do not want to be employed with one job, they look for freelancing jobs or some kind of hobby that can provide them with a second source of income. As a result of which many people opt to invest in some kind of business of their niche and if it flourishes well, then they tend to quit their daily jobs and follow their passion.

Despite the rising popularity of self-employment in current times, there exists some demerits to it. One of the major problem is the stability of the business. People usually think about short time benefits and start the business but in a long run it may not survive. Due to which people loose money and go bankrupt. Moreover, though there are numerous business available, there are hardly countable number of organisations that have stayed through the thick and thin of the changing market. For instance, with the pandemic and recession in many countries many businesses have drowned due to absense of customers and consequently a considerable amount of money has been lost. Furthermore, a business demands working round the clock to get things running which in a long run can have negative effect on one’s health.

Lastly, there are various reasons for people to choose self-employment but it comes along with a lot of disadvantages.