Some people say material possessions are very useful in bringing us happiness, but others argue that they are useless in terms of providing happiness.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion and reasons.

Since the ancient times, human has been in pursuit of happiness. There have been many arguments about the true definition of happiness. Some people argue that it comes from money, however, others, including me, believe that it is something that cannot be bought.

Nowadays, many people in our society are materialists. It is undeniable that money is very powerful. It fulfills human’s desires, whether it is money, fame, power or social status. Achieving something we have always wished for definitely brings us happiness. For example, most of us are craving for social status. With money you will easily get into high society, make friends and get respect from successful people. In addition, the quality of life of rich people is absolutely much better since they are able to afford the finest things. Moreover, there are some memorable experiences which we have to pay for to go through such as travelling abroad or go camping with our family.

On the other hand, others believe that giving is receiving. They trust in achieving happiness by helping people and contributing to the society. They find themselves happy and blissful in devoting to build a better world by helping those who are disabled or too poor. Buddha said “If you light a lamp for someone else it will also brighten your path”, serving society helps us discover our inner beauty as well as makes us feel fulfilled and gratified. The sense of fulfillment shows that our life have purpose and makes it rich, meaningful and happy.

To sum up, there are convincing arguments that material possessions bring happiness. Nevertheless, I personally think the truly way of achieving happiness is giving and helping.