Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your ow

The idea of learning foreign languages is becoming quite topical recently because people believe that it may have some negative and positive consequences in their life. However, there are debates on both sides of discussion and I will discuss the both views.

Opponents who urge no need to learn a foreign language say that it would use up time, and prevent from doing paramount work like dedicating enough time to learn fundamental science in different fields. This means that, they try to point out the issue of having compulsory literacy leading to better academic achievement which help to occupy proper job positions. Then, critics believe that knowing other languages should be considered as a hobby beside other hobbies such as doing an exercise, playing an instrument, and other entertainments.

By contrast, proponents cite that learning a foreign language, especially in childhood can develop children’s mind and help them to be creative, leading to better school achievement. They say that if students are interested in learning other languages they should be encouraged to improve their knowledge in learning foreign languages neither they will use the language in future nor they will not. Secondly, they emphasize that learning English as a foreign language is highly recommended issue because it is an international language, and there are a wide range of invaluable books, websites, and fundamental science translated incorrectly to other languages. Then, to avoid any misinterpretation, people can cross check with the original books, causing the better understanding.

To conclude, I would tend to side with proponents of learning foreign languages. I feel that its advantages outweighs the reason that opponents emphasize.