Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your ow

Some people think that the only motivation to learn other languages is to visit the native land of the languages. The opposition of this view, however, believes that learning foreign languages has another purpose. This essay will address both of the arguments and provide an opinion as a conclusion.

The proponent of the idea believes that the only reason for learning new languages is because one wants to travel to the native countries. Visitors in foreign countries having an ability to communicate in the local languages may gain various advantages. Take developing friendship as an example. When new visitors speak fluently in their native languages, the local people may easily approach and develop a friendship with them, making it easier for them to adapt and learn to this new environment.

The opponent of this idea, however, consider that learning a new language has other purposes, and these purposes bring great help to people's lives. Learning the English Language, for instance, provides various advantages because by having English skills, people can communicate with citizens from over the world, and this opportunity allows them to learn about other cultures, gain new insights, and develop new friendships. Thus, being multilingual makes people have a chance to broaden their horizons and become global citizens.

To sum up, although visiting other countries is one reason for learning a foreign language, I believe that it is not the sole purpose of becoming bilingual or multilingual. Other objectives such as developing international friendships and learning from them are also aimed at by language learners.