Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation. In what ways do you think this has happened? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years the use of social networking has grown beyond recognition, bringing new set of concerns with it. Most young people now text regular;y and are familiar with a variety of other platforms used for communication, such as Telegram and instant messaging. It has never been easier to keep in touch with family and friends wherever they are in the world. Despite this, however, there is evidence that social isolation is rising and not decreasing. I therefore agree that rather than helping people communicate, technology has actually weakened social bonds. I will attempt to outline some key reasons for this.

Firstly and most obviously, if people are using tablets, phones or other devices, they are focused in the technology rather than what is happening around them. While this might help us keep in touch with people who are far way from us, often it means that the user forgets those in their vicinity. For example, it is now common to see people in restaurants and cafes all looking at their phones instead of speaking to each other. Secondly, although using social networks might seem a good solution for someone who is shy or worried about meeting others, ironically it is more likely to keep them at home. In fact, if people didn't have that option they would have to go out and meet real friends, which is a much healthier way to deal with being lonely. There are reports of people who rarely leave their houses because they are addicted to an 'online existence' and young people who become aggressive when their parents tell them to come offline.

Finally, even if people do meet online friends, these friendships are often not really what they seem. Unfortunately, there have been several reports of people being harmed by someone they believed was a friend. This is because the internet allows us to disguise who we really are. As honesty is key to a good relationship, clearly this is not a good basis to meet friends.

In conclusion, I would argue that while the internet can help with quick and convenient communication for business or travel, or when people live in distant places, for a number of reasons it has not increased social cohesion overall.