Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Although there is a large slice of people thinking that students who decide to enrol to university should only a scientific and technological fields in order to improve global quality of life, there is also somebody who firmly believe that university students should instead choose the courses that they enjoy the most.

As it can be evident, technology and development of science’s fields are actually becoming a key factor for the progress of our society. Incredible paces ahead in topics such medicine have been made in the last centuries thanks to university students, this led to the defeat of several deathly illness which were untreatable by the ancients, allowing to elevate our mortality threshold year after year. Nevertheless, usage of smartphone and other cutting-edge technological devices, which are constantly raising the bar of our life experiences, would not have been possible if nobody decided to learn electrical and communication engineering. Therefor it is clear that without these advancements on science’s fields life would definitely be tougher, and more complicated.

On the other hand, university is actually the place where cultivate and plasm your mind in a free way. Choosing what you like the most, is the more direct way to get success. For example, if you are able to find your appropriate topic and to totally sink into it, success will become the higher odds outcome. In fact, being able to convert your passion into your job, will make you enthusiastic and more involved, letting you to reach higher results. On the other hand, lot of people actually leave university because they made a mistake on choosing their study’s field, getting rid of their personal time. So there is a deep and width difference between study what you want, or what someone else want for you.

In my opinion, nobody should be talked into doing something out of his will. Choose to study what you love, could be the mean that let you reach the results you prefixed with yourself. On the other hand, development of science and technology needs to be a hot topic in all university’s athenaeums, but a student should undertake this kind of study only if pushed from strong intentions.