Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Attending university is one of the imperative ways in order to attain the necessary professional knowledge for students’ future career paths. Therefore, some people contend that students should be allowed to follow their own choices of majors; however, opponents stay that university learners should only be permitted to study fields which are related to science and technology since they are extremely supportive in the next decades. In my opinion, I strongly support the former idea because of several reasons.

On the one hand, there are various motives why some people believe that university students should only choose careers related to science and technological fields. Firstly, only by studying those developed majors can young people contribute significantly to the development of modern society. We do need more breakthrough in medicines, artificial intelligence, biological research and the like in order to tackle the current detrimental issues like overpopulation and environmental problems. Secondly, jobs in those sought after markets will absolutely help students earn a great number of bucks. Therefore, they will be able to live independently and support their whole families as well. On the contrary, a lot of people enter the market of science and technology also causes a remarkable abundance. Consequently, a host of scientists and technical employees will be prone to be unemployed.

On the other hand, to assure the balance of the workforce and students’ interests, students are encouraged to take part in majors that they like. There are other imperative majors related to education, agriculture, and services which need a large number of people. Therefore, only by letting students choose a variety of majors can we balance the job market in order to support different aspects of life and also improve society thoroughly. For example, if a country has a lack of farmers, there will be not enough food supply for both domestic and export purposes. Moreover, in terms of students’ hobbies, being allowed to study and work with the aspect that they like will create the most comfortable environment at work, which results in the increase of work efficiency, competition among workers and also creativity.

In conclusion, students should have the right to choose majors freely rather than science or technology since it will result in the development of almost every aspect of life. Therefore, teachers and parents should give them proper advice to reinforce their opinion of their future career.