Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed if they are used as money making attractions aimed at tourists Others however believe that is the only way to save these traditions Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that tourism industry helps many nations develop their economy which leads to more employment opportunities and new network infrastructure of host community. The opinion is divided on the matter. There are people who believe tourism has detrimental effect on cultural heritage of a nation if it is only used to increase profitability. However, others hold the opinion that this helps the host country to rehabilitate its traditions. This essay intends to delve into both sides before forming an opinion. I personally side with the latter.

To begin with, although tourism has brought a lot of benefits to many countries especially those ailing weak or fragile economy, it has deleterious effects on environment and resources. The areas that were once to be pristine are filled with luxury hotels, commercial airlines, large shopping malls and resorts. The heavy construction and the machinery used for building such tourist destination cause many problems such as soil erosion, loss of virgin land and forest just to name a few. This heavy construction equals pollution and rises the price of land which indigent people can no longer afford to buy one. Moreover, the influx of tourists arise problems such as over consumption of resources and over production of waste. Overconsumption of resources bring about water shortage, loss of natural resources. Over production of waste shows itself in the form of water and air pollution. Finally, this tourist centers don’t attract environmentally conscious clientele.

However, to preserve the cultural tradition, local community need to allocate a considerable amount of money which seems unlikely for many countries to earn in a way other than tourism. The money which is attained from tourism industry can also invest in other important sectors such as education, infrastructure of the city, economy and industry, etc. Besides, it helps government to conserve archeological sites which are on the verge of being knocked down. If a country takes a positive approach in alluring travelers from all over the world, it will definitely flourish the country further down the road. To illustrate, china enjoys tourism industry which helps the nation develop its infrastructure by adding more metro lines and improving its roads like the commercial road which was built to cut the long distance to Pakistan.

Overall, I’m of opinion that preservation of cultural traditions very much depends on the economy. To boost the economy, tourism industry can help governments with their expenditure on different areas like education and non-educational purposes including archeological sites.