Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed if they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others, however, believe that is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some that culture traditions will be ruined if they are applied for attracting visitors. Nevertheless, some argue that utilizing cultural traditions in travelling industry is the only method to preserve these traditions. Before presenting my own opinions, I tend to discuss both sides of this issue.

First of all, using cultural traditions to attract travelers may damage traditions themselves. For those natural traditional sited, such as ethnic villages located in mountains, numerous sightseers mean the much more domestic garbage and the increasing local resource consumption, which may overtop the support of traditional area. Besides, when earning money turns to the main purpose, local residents may adjust those traditions to fit tourists’ taste for making much more money. In this way, the old custom will be replaced by the modern-style custom, losing the original meaning of itself.

However, setting culture traditions as money attractions can save those traditions which lack money and labor for surviving. In many developed countries, for instance, India or Thailand, they don’t have enough finance for maintaining historical heritage or reconstructing traditional buildings. Those Buddhist sculptures will be eroded by nature when the local government doesn’t have enough money on repairing. Additionally, there are less and less young generations who are interested in working for traditions. If the local authority uses the profit of travelling to improve the traditional worker’s salary, young adults may be attracted by those high-paid jobs. Hence, attracting travelers may be the method of saving traditions.

From my perspective, both two sides of this issue should be taken into consideration. Governments should invest some money to support the basic needs of cultural traditions and properly open some traditional sites to tourists for visiting as well. What’s more, local authorities should ensure that the number of tourists are under controlled, encouraging young adults to work for traditions.