Some people think that economic growth is the only way to stop world‘s poverty and hunger,

while others say that economic growth is the cause of environmental disasters. Discuss both

views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the cons and consequences of economic development. Whether economic growth is the optimized method to tackle world poverty or the reason for the deterioration of the environment has caused heated debates. In my opinion, the development of an economy is able to improve social poverty but also leads to serious environmental harmless if such economic growth were not properly controlled.

First, it is obvious that the poor is stemmed from a weak economy, in this economic system, fortunes taken from economic ’s activities can not meet the basic human needs. This means that in the undeveloped economy, the taxation ‘s money was is not enough to pay for public services such as health care services, welfare systems and so on, even for proving food for citizens. So, the solution for improving the poor of nations is enhancing economic ability in order to provide financial resources to cope with social problems.

Second, it is clear that in order to strengthen the nation ‘s economy, some uncontrollable operations of factories and exploiting activities have posed serious environmental issues. This is due to the failure of the government in monitoring economic activities, leading to damage the environmental habitats. For example, factories can leak toxic water to surrounded rivers and so on. But those negative effects can be controlled and dismissed by strict policies, laws, and critical authorities' supervision. So, environmental deterioration should not be the responsibility of governments and authorities, not be blamed for economic growth.

In sum, economic development certainly can solve poverty and hunger. Besides, in order to eliminate the environmental damage risks, governments and individuals should pool their hands to control and ensure a sustainable economy. Only by doing so can we make the most of economic growth to deal with social unwealthy and environmental issues.