Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Modern science has made it possible to alter the genetics of our produces, in order to provide vegetables and grains in abundance. However, it has also been observed that altered food had side effects as well. This essay will examine the positive and negative side of this development.

On one hand, the production of crops has seen significant growth, because of genetically modified seeds provided to the farmers by the agriculture industry. For instance, the production of corn has increased drastically which is used by the food industry widely. Furthermore, because of high production farmers are also enjoying a better economy. Also, these crops are cheaper than naturally grown produces, hence people prefer to buy inorganic food more often.

On the other hand, these genetically modified food are harming consumers immensely. For example, an enormous amount of synthetic hormones are used for creating inorganic food, which is dangerous for the human body, these hormones do not get absorbed by the human body neither they flush out, hence they may cause lethal diseases such as cancer which is incurable.

In addition to this, because of the chemicals used in growing these vegetables and food items, obesity is more prevalent among adults and children nowadays. Secondly, the fertilizers used for these crops do not rinse out even after washing the produces, adding these to the diet may hamper the growth of children as well. Moreover, compared to organic produces these produces lack in nutrition as well.

In conclusion, even though food production has expanded and food is easily available for cheap prices, however in my opinion, the quality has been decreased and consuming these crops has more negative effects than positive.