Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

Good health is a fundamental need of humans, so it is believed that profit-making companies should not be involved in running medical services. Although this approach has both merits and demerits, I assume that it is more beneficial to some extent.

On the one hand, medication from profit-making corporations can cause patients some troubles. Firstly, it might put patients under financial pressure due to the expensive fees of the services. Since some medical companies invest a huge fund on specialized equipment and doctors, they might charge patients more money to compensate for the money loss and even make profits. This makes it unfair for poor patients demanding the health services from these companies, because they cannot afford the costly fees. Secondly, health services provided by profit-making companies might solely be for business purposes, instead of medical. Diseases such as cancer and diabetes require a significant amount of money for long term treatment, some so-called medical corporations might utilize this to illegally increase fees to steal money from patients, instead of spending on medical purposes. For instance, some cancer patients choose public hospitals for treatment because they have been the victims of overpriced services from money-making private hospitals.

On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages of this approach are only applied to some unlucky cases and patients can benefit significantly from it. This approach, first of all, can reduce the pressure on public systems, especially when it comes to a huge demand for healthcare. It can reduce the overdemand for public hospitals as the services from companies provide immediate services without letting patients wait for a long time in turn. For example, Vinmec, a private hospital from Vingroup has helped many patients survive during Covid-19 pandemic in Vietnam. Without the share of demand to private hospitals, some public hospitals cannot be able to save the timing for patients. Moreover, health services from money-profit companies can be more personalized as they can allow individuals to choose the suitable treating methods. The hospital fees might be costly but the variety of modern and effective curing methods suitable to patients’ conditions are worth the expense. Patients’ openness in selecting appropriate treatment can help them improve better than that given by public services.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of prices and companies’ illegal motives, the benefits of medical services run by profit-making companies outweigh them with its contribution to lessen the overdemand for public hospitals and its allowance for patients to choose suitable treatment.