Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree?

Government funding for the arts is thought by some as an impractical expenditure which can be spent more effectively if this money is directed to other sectors of government. However, in my opinion, while I believe that funding the sector of the arts has a lasting advantage to the government, I agree that it would have more potentially constructive effect when this money were allocated to other government sectors.

Admittedly it is true that government can benefit from financially supporting of the arts, as it has some educational assets. One obvious example is that the arts foster young imaginations and facilitate children's success in school. Furthermore, early exposure to the arts will enable children to critical thinking, communications and innovation skills that if children gain them it will be a clear advantage to government in a long run.

However, there are more important sectors to invest money in. Firstly, due to environmental problems, the health of the public has damaged seriously requiring to be prioritised in the state budget. Secondly, the infrastructure of many cities needs to be met the demands of people and these demands are increasing rapidly because of ever- expanding population in the world. Hence, this sector of government has become one of the financial-needed area. Finally, there are economic sectors such as private and public which play a leading role in relation to the development of country if they are funded sufficiently by government.

In conclusion, although the arts are important in upbringing a young generation, the above-mentioned sectors more contribute to maintain stability in country.