: Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that people may lose the ability to communicate face to face because of continuous use of mobile phones and computers.In my opinion,in creasing use of electronic devices as a way to interact with others will have a negative impact on people's face-to-face communication skills.

On the one hand,these electronic devices bring us various benefits.Cooperation between people in different countries was much more difficult when communication was limited to written letters and telegrams.Nowadays,interactions by email,phone and video are almost as good as face-to-face meetings,and many of us benefits from these interactions,either in work or social contexts.For example,many people use social networks, like Facebook, to make new friends and find people who share common interests, and they interact through their computers rather than face to face

On the other hand,our ability to communicate may be affected if we heavily rely on these modern technologies to interact with others,because interaction by using electronic devices is a poor substitute to real communication.Words and letters are the only source of information when looking at screens,so if a person interact with others for a long period,he or she may fail to recognize the information behind others' expressions and intonations.Furthermore,the availability of new communication technologies can have a result of isolating people and discourage real interaction.For example,many young people choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peers in real world.

In conclusion,communication technologies make the interaction with others more convenient than ever before,but our social skills may also affected in a negative way.