Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. Does the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

Nowadays, many hold the view that more frequently use of chatting through electronic devices is detrimental to the young’s reading and writing skills. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that it has some advantages. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the view to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the increasing communication by computers and mobile phones would have a bad effect on training young people’s reading and writing skills. For example, when the young generation contact with their friends online, they would just type on their keyboard instead of holding a pen and writing by themselves. To be more specific, they would seldom read and write, let alone developing a good skill of it.

On the other hand, nonetheless, sending messages through mobile phones and computers is of great benefit to the relationship between people. For instance, online talking could overcome the geographical barriers, making it possible for family members who don’t live together to chat with each other more frequently. Furthermore, it’s also beneficial to the efficiency of communication. Compared with face-to-face talk or writing e-mails, sending messages online is obviously less time-consuming because whenever you are, you could get in connection with others immediately.

To summarize, there is no doubt that rising communicating use of electronic devices would impair young’s reading and writing skills. At the same time, nevertheless, this could improve people’s relationship and raise the communicating efficiency. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that the positive effect of this phenomenon outweigh the negative ones.