Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, air pollution has gained a great deal of attention around the world. The issue has become a bone of contention among the critics regarding the way of reducing it. While some people consider observing the international car-free day will be beneficial for curbing the air pollution, however, I would contend that there are lots of other methods for doing it which are more result-driven.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that observation of international car-free day will be a part of great level of awareness. For this reason, people will be engaged in discussing the critical environmental issues and they will understand how petrol-based vehicles are impacting the quality of air we are inhaling every day. Furthermore, while observing the day globally, it can save a huge amount of fossil fuels. Thus, it can develop the sense among the vehicle owners that our resources are limited. Most importantly, it will stop the emission of carbon-dioxide and dangerous lead particles in the air. Hence, the extent of air pollution will be reduced and overall awareness will be raised globally.

Conversely, rather than observing just a single awareness day in a year, there is a numerous result-oriented approach to limit the air pollution. For instance, it can be done by replacing the fossil-fuel based vehicles into electric or solar-power based cars, which is already being encouraged in developed countries including Canada and the USA. In addition, factories and heavy industries must be compelled by the governmental bodies to follow the Environment Protection Act. Thus, they will treat the toxic smokes properly before expelling it to the environment and the purity of the air will be improved. On top of that, tree plantation must be taken into consideration to handle the existing load of carbon-dioxide from the environment. Therefore, the air will be free from the obnoxious level of toxic pollutants and we will be able to breathe a healthy air.

All things considered, we are almost on the brink of irreversible damage to our mother nature due to air pollution. I personally believe, there are a lot of things to do to redress the balance rather than observing the awareness issues alone.