Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental issues are inevitable issues that many countries are struggling to combat. When it comes to air pollution, car-free days are considered effective in reducing the pollution level, whereas others claim that there are other alternative solutions. I will discuss both of these views, and express my opinion.

On the one hand, imposing some days without cars could exert positive influences on some aspects. Thanks to the absence of cars, the volume of traffic would be reduced, allevitating the problems caused by traffic congestion and the pressure put on the infrastructure where traffic tailback usually occurs. As a consequence, a considerable amount of pollutants emitted by vehicles such as carbon dioxide would be eliminated, provoking the amelioration in the air quality. Not a long-term policy, car-free days could raise residents’ awareness of the detrimental impact of unbridled use of cars on the environment. Therefore, this policy not only stimulates residents to find alternatives vehicles to commute as opposed to cars, but the need to protect the environment would be attached more importance as well.

On the other hand, there are other courses of action to combat air pollution. Firstly, the use of public transport could be encouraged. Expanding and upgrading public transport provision would attract more citizens to make use of this system instead of individual vehicles, and also offer an opportunity to rural residents, who rarely have access to the system. In Korea, for example, the residents commute to mostly by subway thanks to its convenience. Secondly, the authority could galvanize its inhabitants to commute by such alternatives as bicycles and by foot when in short distance. This could be done by constructing separate lanes, making the inhabitants feel safe when traveling.

In conclusion, while discouraging cars in certain days could be a way to alleviate the air pollution, I think imposing long-term solutions is of prime importance.