Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution. However, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

International car-free days are believed to exert a good impact on air quality. However, some people think other measures are more efficient. I will discuss both of these views and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that a car-free day can reduce air contamination greatly. The first reason is that car dependence is linked to exhaust emission, which pollutes the air and contributes to global warming. If a car-free campaign is launch on a global scale, even in certain days, toxic fume releasing into the environment can be minimized. For instance, when not being able to travel by car, commuters will resort to other means of transport, such as car-pool vehicles, buses or subways, and this encourages more people to prioritize environmentally friendly vehicles.

On the other hand, I believe that there are more feasible and sustainable measures to reduce air pollution. Local governments should encourage the use of public tranport like subways because it produces a smaller quantity of pollutants and is less likely to damage the air. Also, the disposal of waste, especially plastic waste that emits toxic fumes if burned carelessly, at landfills should be closely monitored. The final and the most effective way is to use sustainable and environmentally energy sources, for example solar or wind power, to replace fossil fuels in the long term.

In conclusion, if there are no cars on the road, it will help in reducing the pollution but the common public will face a lot of problems.