Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views as to what kind of sports benefits them the most. There are those who give their preference to team sports such as football while others gravitate towards single player games like tennis or swimming. In my opinion, both types of sport are equally important in terms of human development.

The benefit of playing sports in teams beyond the improved health is that by playing team sports, people develop some crucial skills such as teamworking and organizing. In sports such as football or baseball, solidarity and cooperation between team members are the key factors for victory. Players participating in these games have to learn how to collaborate with each other, settle internal disputes and sacrifice personal interests for the collective goals. In doing so, they not only grasp the value of working as a team but also develop a sense of solidarity, all of which are essential skills in life.

On the other hand, single player sports have their own advantage when it comes to flexibility. Individual sports like swimming, running and tennis do not require as many players as team sports. Therefore people practicing these sports, especially people with a limited time frame for pastime activities may find it more convenient, meaning that they could actively decide the time they want to do sport without being reliant upon others’ schedule.

From my point of view, the ultimate goal of sport is to build up fitness and relieve the stress levels. Playing sport as a team or doing sport individually are both good for people’s physical and mental health and thus it is impossible to tell which kind of sports is the best. The idea of which sport fits ones best depends on their conditions and their predilections.

In conclusion, both team and individual sports have their own merits and it would be ludicrous to compare which one is better than the other.