Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

Many children struggle working their mathematics exercises or try to grasp some esoteric ideologies of philosophy every day. While I recognize that making Mathematics and Philosophy optional subjects may ease the school life of a number of students, I believe that those kind of subjects should be kept compulsory to a certain level.

Math and Philosophy are never easy subjects at school. To be good at Math, one needs to have great numerical skills while Philosophy would require learners to have a good analytical ability and deep social knowledge. Apparently not all children were born with such innate abilities. Furthermore, in a society of high specialization, some people do not need to know much about formulas or ideologies to be success. A potential football player or an aspiring musician evidently do not need extensive knowledge of math or philosophy. It would actually be a waste of talents if they are forced to divert their time into studying those subjects. Therefore, it is not necessarily that everyone should follow the same structure of education with Math and Philosophy at the core.

However, I would argue that certain foundations of math and philosophy are critical. Science subjects like math and society play an important part in the intellectual development of a child. Beyond numbers, calculations or tenets, math enables children to think logically whereas philosophy cultivates in them a rightful mindset and guides them on how they perceive the world. All of them have enormous impacts on the children’s entire life. Besides, children are normally not mature enough to be able to make choices regarding their education. Thereby a compulsory set of subjects until a certain age, for example a fixed course for all primary schools, are reasonable.

In conclusion, math and philosophy should not be completely optional at school, but preferably remain a compulsion to an extent.