Today more people than ever are travelling around the world. Some people believe that such travelling helps to broaden people’s minds, while others think it just confirms their prejudices.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing demand for travelling and tourism. While the idea of travelling appears to some people as a mere confirmation of what they already know, I would contend that travelling plays an important role in developing people’s knowledge.

The main reason why some people link travelling with checking their speculations is that they could acquire all the information about the places they decide to visit from many sources. The development of modern information transmission and communication methods allows people to access to every detail about the place they plan to travel to. In other words, people can easily explore a city or a region just by watching TV programmes such as National geographic and Discovery channel or look up for reviews from travel blogs and websites. By doing so, they form their personal opinions about the places and therefore visiting such places would do nothing more than verifying their opinions.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I firmly hold the opinion that tourism enrichs people’s knowledge in a way that is different from reading or watching. By travelling, people have opportunities to experience themselves the culture, climate and customs of regions they visit, as oppose to rely on and be influenced by other sources. Just a small part of local customs and lifestyle can be described by travel reviewers or TV series and it could be biased. Moreover, the only way people know about local food and cuisine is to taste it, instead of reading about it. Finally, face-to-face communication with local residents is the best way to learn about the culture of a region.

In conclusion, while I understand the school of thought that travelling is just a way to confirm people’s prejudgments, I believe that it is necessary that people travel to broaden their experience.