Should government makes decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

Whether government intervention in people’s way of living should be encouraged has been a topical issue. While some people express serious concerns and opposition about government regulating their lifestyle, I believe that government’s control regarding personal lifestyle is to some extent necessary for the overall benefit of the community.

The main reason why some people do not support the idea of the government deciding their lifestyle is that they believe government’s interference adversely limit their freedom of choices. Authorities can essentially govern people’s behaviors by the introduction and enforcement of laws and regulations. In some circumstances, these laws would be equal to restrictions and boundaries on people’s personal lifestyle. For example, in Vietnam there have been intense arguments between LGBTQ associations and the government over the acknowledgement of same sex marriage, which is still considered illegal under Vietnam current law systems even though it might seem sensible that voluntary marry is of personal choices of lifestyle.

While I aware of the inherent imperfections of government deciding on individual’s lifestyle, I would argue that these government controls are indisputable. The underlying idea of government’s regulations is to create a civilized and egalitarian society even though it would mean impinging on people’s way of living. For example, without any taxes or limitations on the use of alcohol or cigarettes conducted by the government, many people would choose to consume more of these products and hence the degeneration of overall health of the whole society, not to mention others problems caused by alcohol such as domestic violence or traffic accidents.

To conclude, despite the suffocation that government’s control over people’s decisions in life may cause, these controls are beneficial for the society as a whole