Some people think that children should be encouraged to travel more while at school to broaden their experience. Other think that not enough time is spent in the classroom learning basics of a good education.

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not schools should have trips for students besides indoor classes. While there are those who may argue that time should only be used to study indoor to ensure the quality of education, I believe that travelling has an important role to play in children’s knowledge accumulation process.

There are a number of reasons why some people hold the opinion that school children should only focus on fundamental subjects taught in school. One reason is that in order to participate in field trips, students have to cut their time learning subjects at school. This in some cases would have a negative effect on the academic results. Another reason is that the daily study habit of children could be interrupted by occasional travelling. As it is crucial that learning process is maintain on a continuous basis, spending two or three days on an expedition means that school children may forget the knowledge they learnt before and would need some time to review after coming back, which is a waste of time.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I it is seem to me that field trips are valuable opportunities for children to explore the world. Through travelling, children experience and learn things that cannot be obtained in classroom environment. While school subjects mainly provide students with theories and principles, trips outside school giving children practical approachs are perfect supplements. For example, while visiting museums and ancient vestiges, children not only are instilled a sense of national pride and patriot but also consolidate their knowledge about history they learnt at school. Moreover, travelling stimulates children’s intellectual development and creativity.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible that children spend their time on the basics taught in classroom, I personally prefer they spend an amount of time travelling to explore the world.